It was my birthday…. mixed feelings.

It was my birthday on Tuesday, & for most part it was amazing with a tinge of sadness..

It started at midnight when I cut my first cake, pineapple cream cake it was. My flatmate brought it for me & all my batch mates came to celebrate, blowing candles, singing, wishing good luck, digging in the cake all together as soon as I was finished cutting it, taking lots of snaps. In the middle of the celebration arrived my 2nd cake from a very special friend, a dark chocolate cake along with bouquet of pink roses, pink teddy, a beautiful card & chocolates. I couldn’t be more happier. Along with all the celebrations, I keep getting calls from friends making it even more special. I slept at 2 a.m. & got up at 8 a.m. as I there again began the session of calls.

I got to work and everyone was very nice and excited it was my b-day. One of my very good friend brought me a bunch of gifts, all of my choices that included a certificate of friendship, a pair of glowing candles & aroma-filled lemon grass & three red roses. It was going all amazing. I got my third cake post-lunch brought by my labmates, a fruit cake with orange cream & they had a party for me in our boss’s cabin and all sang happy birthday to me. We all hung out for a while and laughed. I haven’t laughed that much in a long time. It was a good break from all the crying I’ve been doing since last 1 year.

And it continued with the fourth & last cake of the day in the evening brought by my batchmates. It was a huge fruit cake & again continued the series of laughter, snaps, cheers. they all wrote short messages for me on the cake cartoon, it was so nice of them & it really made my day.

After work, I went out to dinner with two of my very good friends to a great place in the city. We got three awesome mocktails & superb food.

When I got home, I checked my mails & facebook to find them to be filled with tons of messages. It made my birthday even more special. I even heard from friends I haven’t talked to in a long time.

Amidst all the celebrations, in a small part of my brain was the thought of my dad. I felt guilty for having fun when he is not well. I don’t know if I should feel it or not but I did. But it was just one day after ages of crying, that’s what I keep telling myself. He wished in the morning & apologized for not being able to do anything for me. I felt bad about it. I can never feel joy again like the way I used to feel till my dad recovers completely. I asked all of my friends to send my share of wishes to him & pray for him. And that’s what I would say to all you readers, thanks a lot for your support & please pray for my dad.

3 thoughts on “It was my birthday…. mixed feelings.

  1. You can’t live your dad’s life for him, and you can’t stop living your life for him either. I’m so glad you had such a happy birthday. And so much cake! If there’s any of that dark chocolate cake left, maybe you could take a picture and post it, so we can share in the celebration. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

